Skip to content

Woke up in London yesterday, found myself in the city near Piccadilly…

May 11, 2010

If you haven’t heard it already, you should download the song “Good Life” by OneRepublic… the lyrics are great and they’re all about London, which definitely fits at the moment.  The above picture is of Russell Square Station, the tube station right near our hotel in Bloomsbury.  But before I start talking about sights I’ll just say what’s been going on so far…

Our flight was delayed so we didn’t leave the U.S. until about 8:45pm and arrived in London around 10:15am.  I slept about 6 hours of the 8 hour flight which was nice, but jet lag is definitely taking its toll because we’re all still pretty tired.  After we got off the flight we went through customs, baggage claim etc. and got on the tube for an hour ride to Russell Square.  Something that I immediately noticed on the tube ride and when we got out on to the street outside of Russell Square is that I felt like I was in Harry Potter (dumb, I know haha).  The part of London that we’ve seen so far looks a lot like diagon alley kind of… the buildings aren’t that tall, the streets are very narrow, and the shops are all tiny.  And of course, everyone speaks with a British accent (which I love).  The people here are also extremely nice.  We had a very nice professor from the University of London help us with our bags from the tube station to the hotel.

But anyways… after we got to the hotel we ate a sandwich quickly from Pret, which is a sandwich shop kind of similar to Panera.  Then we all passed out around 1pm and slept until 4:30.  When we woke up we went and ate dinner at a cute place called Giraffe at an outdoor mall… Something I already love about London is that there are a lot of market-type stores with fruit stands outside.  We already passed an outdoor market with Italian pastries that looked awesome.  Then we stopped by the grocery store and Mary Norris bought two 12-packs of diet coke (thank the lord they sell diet coke over here or she probably wouldn’t make it), and Caroline and I bought Galaxy chocolate bars, which is some of the best chocolate I’ve ever had.  I’m definitely bringing back some to the U.S.

So now we’re back at the hotel room hanging out until our first official meeting at 9:30 tonight and I’m going to go continue reading “Columbine” by Dave Cullen (if you haven’t read it, I highly suggest it.  I’m only 50 pages in and it’s extremely interesting).  Sorry this post is very erratic, I’m still pretty jetlagged but I’ll post something more coherent later on and when I have more stuff to talk about haha.

Peace out.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

